top of page
Search

Support

Updated: Oct 20, 2022

"Support" defined by Mirriam Webster includes the following: "To keep (something) going."


I wish I knew who posted the piece of art that inspirated today's writing prompt.


This picture speaks volumes about the meaning of support. I am an Indigenous Woman, and I am beginning to write more and more about what I know and have experienced in order to create understanding for those who don't know but want to. I also want to create a healing space for those who do know and understand all too well, what it means to not have support and who have never felt heard in their struggles. It is also important to me to share the truth of the one true God and Creator of this Earth.


My writing journey has gone through many stages and continues to evolve. I imagine it will evolve throughout my life as long as I put a pen to paper and keep my heart open to the words of the Creator and the actions of those around me.


I used to belong to a Church, I have been hurt by those who attended the Church and believed that God was only for certain people. I have also read the bible and have learned that God is no respector of persons and He responds to faith and belief in Him. He heals, He answers prayers, He guides those who follow Him.


As Indigenous People, our Creator is the same. We prayed and asked for things, and we were given what we needed when we needed it. We were supported and loved and important.


This piece reminds me that I am who my family prayed for. I am their future. Their past shaped my world, and my actions will support my children's future. For good or bad, to bring healing or to bring continued heartache. Breaking the cycle is my choice today. I have the support of my family to change what was and make a better future for the generations to come.


My job now is to support my children. To encourage them, to build them up, to help them stand tall again. To lose a past where they were oppressed and beaten, lied to and hurt. To teach them to heal. To forgive. To love. To support others as they have been supported so that our future can be bright and whole again.



today’s prompt: Support


When did you last experience helpful support from someone? What have you discovered about connecting with others over the past few years? What are your favorite ways to connect with others?


Use the one-word prompt — SUPPORT — to inspire the caption you write for your Instagram post. Don't forget to include the hashtag #hopewriterlife.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pricing for my works

Figured its about time to make a master post for my prices for my journals, mini albums, pens and cards. Journals Single journal: $30...

Silence

Why do you punish me with silence? You say I can speak my words freely. But when I do, you pull away. I have learned to be silent. To use...

Comments


bottom of page