top of page
Search

National Truth and Reconciliation Day

Updated: Oct 20, 2022

Today I participated in a discussion panel: How Can Organizations Participate in Reconciliation, as part of the Nationally recognized day of Truth and Reconciliation.


It was so great to be part of this panel and to realize how far things have come in such a short period of time. People are asking questions about Indigenous history in Canada and are learning more about what Indigenous People have experienced and continue to experience.


While the process is not perfect and we have a long way to go with opportunites for continual improvement, it is encouraging to see that there is empathy, understanding, and a desire to build better relationships. Education and learning is an on-going process in life. As you teach your children about my experience, I am also teaching my children to be a voice in a place where I may not have had the chance to speak. I am teaching others to ask questions, I share what I know and explain how we can do better based on my experience in life.


I learn from your questions and I am less defensive and ashamed each day as I feel more included and free to be who I am. I am healed a little more each day as I learn that I am no longer judged by my skin color or stereo-typed because of my race.


The healing works both ways. A friendship has been started and acceptance is there in the space that is being created because of these events.


I encourage you to ask your questions so I can teach you about me and where I am from. I encourage your questions so I can also ask about you and your experiences. If we can feel safe in that space where conversations happen, then there is a real chance for true reconciliation because that friendship now exists.


Thank you for taking even a moment to think about this day.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pricing for my works

Figured its about time to make a master post for my prices for my journals, mini albums, pens and cards. Journals Single journal: $30...

Silence

Why do you punish me with silence? You say I can speak my words freely. But when I do, you pull away. I have learned to be silent. To use...

Comentarios


bottom of page